A Truckie’s day off in Niagara Falls

The pitter-patter became plops of wetness all too soon as the drops increased with intensity and frequency. A low rumble sounded in my ears, and my feet – though securely planted – rocked with the moving platform below me.

The Maid of the Mist was approaching the mighty falls of Niagara.

I caught a glimpse of rainbows and clear blue waters between the rushing crashes of the endless gallons that came flooding down to my eye level. There I stood, clad in my chic, see-through, blue poncho – just one among many other international citizens aboard the boat. All of us, standing there at the base of the falls, voluntarily getting slapped in the face with flyaway droplets and starring in all amazement at the grandiose power before us.  It was pretty awesome.

I was thankful in that exact moment in time that I had made friends with the traveling Florida couple beside me. (John had chosen a break day schedule consisting of responsibility and computer work… someone needs a job after Memorial Day.)  So, without regret I had adventured out on my own only to find myself here – the ‘maiden of the mist.’ It made the whole experience real, to exchange an understanding smirk with my new friends; a smirk that signified the reality of sharing THAT moment with the others… I AM in Canada. Holy Cow check out Niagara Falls!!!

There I was onboard the famed watercraft that so many had ridden before me, and will continue to ride for as long as the water flows. I loved it. I felt so small in front of the massive water curtain. I felt so united to the diversified crowds who stood beside me, experiencing the natural beauty with me. I felt so insignificant to be just one of the many people there, in that moment. Yet, I felt like the show was just for me. I felt….



…paranoid. I could not stop thinking over and over again: Don’t let the work camera get wet! Don’t let the work camera get wet!

PS – We’re sleeping in New Buffalo, Michigan tonight, and tomorrow we head to Chicago for the weekend! There’s a promise of Navy Pier and car shows galore...

About Jennifer Stafford
Jennifer is the Social Media Manager for HomeAway and has been with the company since 2007. She works on global social media programs and helps manage all of the US social media accounts. Prior to joining HomeAway she was the SEO lead for GEICO in Washington DC. Outside of work Jennifer travels as much as possible and is always planning her next trip!

One Response to A Truckie’s day off in Niagara Falls

  1. Jennifer says:

    This sounds great! It’s been a long time (uh oh, college was that long ago?) since I’ve been to Niagara Falls. You are going to LOVE Chicago!

Leave a Reply

